The Nineteenth Century Studies Association Scheuerle-Zatlin International Travel Award was created in 2011 in order to increase the participation of international scholars traveling from outside North America who are often hampered from attending conferences in North America because of the cost of travel. This prize represents NCSA’s commitment to an international scholarly exchange of ideas and to the benefits of research that come from an international perspective. The first two awards were funded by generous personal gifts from founding members, William Scheuerle (2012) and Linda Zatlin (2013). Subsequent awards will be funded by the Association’s endowment. The Scheuerle-Zatlin International Travel Award of $500 is offered to support the presentation of a paper by an international scholar and accepted for a session at the annual meeting of the society. The award check will be presented at the conference, and the travel award recipient will be recognized at the Business Meeting and in conference literature.

The scholar’s paper proposal must have been accepted, the paper must be presented by the author at the conference in person. The completed paper must be submitted at the time of application to the Scheuerle-Zatlin International Travel Award and must be authored by the international scholar who is presenting; co-authored papers are not eligible. The paper must be unpublished and cannot have been previously presented at another conference.

International scholars are eligible only if they are traveling from outside of North America in order to attend the conference; the international scholar must register for the conference and participate fully in its activities.

Only one grant per year is anticipated, so applicants for this grant will be competing for limited travel support. Our expectation is that all scholars who submit paper proposals agree to attend and present the paper when their proposal is accepted, regardless of whether or not a travel grant is later awarded.

Conference presenters may only apply for one conference travel award in a given year.

January 15, 2024

To Apply
International scholars with accepted proposals should fill out the Travel Grant Application and submit it along with the completed paper to the Chair of the Faculty Development and Travel Awards Committee, A. Maggie Hazard at

The final decision regarding the award will be announced by January 31st, 2024.

All submissions via email will be acknowledged.

A. Maggie Hazard
Chair of the Faculty Development and Travel Awards Committee

Previous Recipients

Iwona Lilly, University of Lodz. “The Media Image of Prince Albert Based on Selected British Press Titles and Journalism (1840–1861): The Times Analysis”

Vanessa Iacocca, University College Dublin. “Negotiating Gender and British Citizenship: Alfred, Lord Tennyson and Violet Fane’s Arthurian Medievalisms in Dialogue.”

Adam Bridgen, University of St. Andrews, “Improvement and Apocalypse: Writing Ecocide in James Woodhouse’s Crispinus Scriblerus.” 2022 NCSA Conference in Rochester, New York.

Isabelle Gapp, “Landscape and Labour: Anna Boberg and the Lofoten Fishing Community,” 2020 NCSA Conference in Rochester, New York.